Bacon & Marinated Tofu Fried Rice

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again– bacon makes everything better. Even when you have the most DELISH marianted tofu ever. Want it vegetarian, heck, leave the bacon out! Crumple your nose at tofu? Leave that out. The best thing about fried rice is it’s a kitchen sick recipe– you do you. However, I went all out in this and added all the things I love.

image

Katie’s Fried Rice Recipe, brought to you by whatever is in my fridge.

First, make your rice. I find one cup of rice is enough so make your favorite, which for me is either jasmine white rice or brown rice. A good ratio is one cup rice to two cups water. Boil your water first then pour your rice in. Mix it together, lower your heat to super low, and cover the rice. John taught me to leave the lid a little open to make the rice cook better. My rice always came out gummy or awkward, and it’s gotten a lot better with that tip! Check your bag of rice, but for me, it takes about 15-20 minutes, possibly longer with brown rice.

Next, grab a pan and choose your veggies. I use whatever is in my fridge, but generally it includes garlic, carrots, onions, peas or edamame, broccoli, and some sort of green (in this case it was mustard greens and bok choi from my garden! YAY!). But really– squash, corn, eggplant, whatever makes your palate happy. For me, I saute them in a little olive or sesame oil.

image

The neatest, smallest food tip I ever learned was an order of cooking. Carrots take longer than onions, Onions longer than garlic. Garlic longer than greens/broccoli. After a while of cooking, you learn about how long each takes. For me, carrots (the same for potatoes when frying or boiling) are about 5-8 minutes on their own, onions another 5, then garlic, and greens/broccoli, etc only take about 2-3 minutes, just long enough to wilt or steam.

When your veggies are done, put them aside and cook your eggs. I like to use about three eggs, and whisk them up with salt, pepper, a little sesame oil and a little soy sauce. I like exact measurements, but this really is one of those things you add as much as your personal taste calls for. If you need a guide, about a tsp of each. Then scramble.

While all this is going on, you can marinate your tofu. A lot of people are freaked out by the texture of tofu. I was one of those people, until I discovered freezing tofu. If when you buy your firm or extra firm tofu, you drain it, slice it like bread, then freeze it, upon defrosting, you’ll find tofu takes on a firmer, meatier, heartier consistency, which I enjoy. But of course, rock the silken tofu if that’s your thing! After defrosting your tofu, make your marinade. I got this recipe from Vegetarian Times magazine.

  • 1 16-oz. pkg. extra-firm tofu, drained and cut into bite-size cubes
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced (4 tsp.), divided
  • 3 ½ Tbs. low-sodium soy sauce
  • 2 Tbs. hoisin sauce
  • 5 tsp. toasted sesame oil, divided
  • 1 ½ tsp. dark brown sugar
  • ¼ tsp. freshly ground black pepper

Place tofu in bowl with 2 tsp. garlic.Whisk together soy sauce, hoisin sauce, 1 tsp. sesame oil, brown sugar, pepper, and 1 Tbs. water in small bowl. Pour over tofu; toss gently to coat. Set aside to marinate (for as long as you’re cooking the other things, 5-10 is enough, but longer is cool too).

Next, just dry pan fry those tofu slices until the slices get a nice browning or caramelization. YUM.

Combine all, add soy sauce and sriracha, AND ENJOY!

Leave a Reply

