Last Minute NYC EXTRAVAGANZA!

So, you may have been thinking: Well, that’s it. Keeping up a blog is hard, so we can’t blame her, but this is it.

NOPE. I’M BACK!

While lately I have been busy with juggling my job, applying to grad schools, a boyfriend, a kitty, and you know, adult life, the main reason I’ve been MIA is a completely unexpected and wholly lovely trip to NYC.

My parents have been planning a trip all year to NYC with friends. The Monday before flying out Friday, my father became too ill to attend. Luckily, he’s fine now, but he knew he wouldn’t be able to handle the walking required of a NYC trip. Therefore, he called me and gave me a cute spiel about how my mother was threatening to cancel the trip to stay with him, and how this would be a waste, and how much he wanted her to go and have a great time. How could I say no to that? Especially since I am a huge musical theater/art museum/big city nut. Therefore, after working out my shifts with my generous co-workers, and ensuring my cat and fella would survive on their own for a weekend, I flew off to NYC!

There I saw AMAZING shows like Matilda (unlike ANYTHING I’VE EVER SEEN), Once (intimate and I got to meet Arthur Darvill), and Kinky Boots (blown away by the leads). I enjoyed the weather by taking the Staten Island Ferry, walking the Brooklyn Bridge, and visiting the High Line. I shopped at Chelsea Market and rode the subway and mostly importantly…ATE. ATE ATE ATE.

Look at these beautiful spices at Chelsea Market!

Pumpkin milkshake= officially fall.

I was so stuffed all weekend. I thought I’d share a couple of the things I ate, since, duh, this is a food blog. 🙂

The first crazy meal I ate was at Marcus Samuelsson’s Red Rooster in Harlem. If you don’t know him, he’s a badass. Ethiopian born, Swedish raised, Top Chef Master winner, Food Network personality. Handsome to boot too.

We had brunch there. Let me just say. Tomato jam and cornbread. Crawfish and brie grits. Fried oysters in hollandaise on top of fluffy baked eggs with bacon and tomatoes.

We had pizza in Brooklyn at Julianna’s Pizza. Super interesting history, delicious pizza, possibly the BEST ice cream I’ve ever had in my life, made just for that restaurant by Brooklyn Ice Cream Factory: raspberry chocolate chunk. UGH.

Surprisingly delicious meal of the trip: the prix fix menu at the MOMA’s Terrace 5. Though, I shouldn’t have been surprised because it’s run by Danny Meyer’s group. Red curry squash soup, brushetta, fresh figs with creme fresh.

(I tried to not be obnoxious and take pictures of everything, so use your Ratatouille imagination. You know the scene I’m talking about: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yyah49_Oz78.

Last great meal I’ll discuss: thai at Harold Dieterle’s (the first Top Chef winner) restaurant Kin Shop in Hell’s Kitchen. All I have to say is– they have thai ice tea ICE CREAM. I was sold. Probably my favorite part was our appetizer–spicy duck laab. Mmmm. My entree was like nothing I’ve ever tasted before: red onion congee with a steamed egg and squid. Congee is like a sort of soupy grits? And I die for grits. I also finished everyone else’s meals because the food was so delish so I also had northern thai curry, dungeness crab noodles, and pad see ew.

Ok, I’m done drooling. Regular posts soon!

Leave a Reply

