Pumpkin Apple Muffins

image

Fact: I LOVE FALL! Only after I moved to DC from Louisiana did I realize how magical this season is. The changing (and crunchy) leaves, the brisk air, and all the DELISH FOOD. Really, all the best foods are fall based.* All the squashes, the spices, the heartiness, the richness. It gives me shivers. I want an apple cider in my hand forever.

*the exception being crawfish, my FAVORITE FOOD

So this is brought to you by Cookies and Cups and my intense devotion to fall.

image

Pumpkin Apple Muffins

–2 ½ cups flour

–2 cups granulated sugar

–1 Tbsp pumpkin pie spice

–1 tsp baking soda

–1 tsp salt

–2 eggs

–1 cup pumpkin puree

–½ cup vegetable oil

–2 cups chopped apples, peeled (Peeling is a personal choice; I rarely do it anymore for anything.)

Preheat oven to 350°.

Line a muffin pan with liners, or spray pan with cooking spray.

Prepare muffin batter by whisking together flour, granulated sugar, pumpkin pie spice, baking soda and salt.

In another bowl mix together eggs, pumpkin and oil. Mix these wet ingredients in with the dry ingredients until incorporated.

Stir in chopped apples.

Fill muffin cups 2/3 full.

Bake for 20-25 minutes until a toothpick or whatever you choose to stick in it comes out clean.

If you look at the recipe page, there are options for cream cheese filling and strudel topping, but I like simplicity.

YUM. 

 

image

Look at those cute little apple pieces inside! They provide a neat crunch and a freshness to the spicier pumpkin muffin base.

Leave a Reply

