Salted Caramel-Chocolate Pecan Pie

When this past month’s Southern Living showed up on my doorstep, I knew I had to make the pie on the cover. This pie is extremelyyyy rich but yummy. I also loved that when my sister visited me a couple weeks before Thanksgiving, and saw the magazine, she told me she was making the pie on Thanksgiving too. Great minds think alike. 🙂

Shout out to Pie Oh My! I haven’t really made pie crust before, and didn’t think Thanksgiving was the day to do it, so I was so grateful that our favorite pie place sold rolled out, frozen pie crusts for the holiday!

This recipe is brought to you by Southern Living and my grandmother, who gave me the gift subscription; thanks Granny!

image

Chocolate Filling

  • 1 ½ cups sugar
  • ¾ cup butter, melted
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup 100% cacao unsweetened cocoa (I used Hersheys)
  • 1 tablespoon light corn syrup
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 cup toasted chopped pecans
  • 1 (9-inch) unbaked deep-dish piecrust shell

Salted Caramel Topping

  • ¾ cup sugar
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • 1/3 cup heavy cream
  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • ¼ teaspoon table salt
  • 2 cups toasted pecan halves
  • ½ teaspoon sea salt

Preparation

  1. Prepare Filling: Preheat oven to 350°. Stir together first 6 ingredients in a large bowl. Add eggs, stirring until well blended. Fold in chopped pecans. Pour mixture into pie shell.
  2. Bake at 350° for 35 minutes. (Filling will be loose but will set as it cools.) Remove from oven to a wire rack.
  3. Prepare Topping: Bring ¾ cup sugar, 1 Tbsp. lemon juice, and ¼ cup water to a boil in a medium saucepan over high heat. (Do not stir.) Boil, swirling occasionally after sugar begins to change color, 8 minutes or until dark amber. (Do not walk away from the pan, as the sugar could burn quickly once it begins to change color.) Remove from heat; add cream and 4 Tbsp. butter. Stir constantly until bubbling stops and butter is incorporated (about 1 minute). Stir in table salt.
  4. Arrange pecan halves on pie. Top with warm caramel. Cool 15 minutes; sprinkle with sea salt.
  5. I made the chocolate pie two days before Thanksgiving, and then added the pecans and salted caramel the day before Thanksgiving. I stored the pie by covering it with aluminum foil and keeping it in the fridge.

 

 

 

image
image

Leave a Reply

