Quick Chicken Noodle Soup

Lately it’s been in the teens here in STL and thus all i want to eat is SOUP. But when I’ve had a long day at the library, I don’t want to cook! Sacrilege, I know. My jank version of chicken noodle soup always hits the spot. I’ve done the traditional cooking the whole chicken to make stock, etc. However, this is a great 30 minute version.

image

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 qt of chicken stock
  • 2 carrots, peeled and chopped (I just cut the carrots into little rounds, or if the carrot is really thick, I cut the carrot long-ways and then cut it short ways, making little half moons)
  • 2 ribs celery, chopped
  • ½ lb of your favorite small pasta (I generally do arancini de pepe, pastina, ditalini, or orzo)
  • dried or fresh thyme
  • 1 bay leaf
  1. Pour one tbsp of olive oil into a pot. Add your chopped carrot and celery. Cook for about 5-8 minutes. Then add the minced garlic, thyme, and bay leaf. Cook for another minute more or until aromatic.
  2. Add your chicken stock (and pasta** see note) and cook for about 5-10 minutes . You want to make sure your vegetables are the level of softness you like. I want mine to still be a little crisp.
  3. **You can cook your pasta in your soup, but you may have to add more stock or water since the pasta will suck it up. Sometimes I boil my pasta separately and just add it to the soup. If you do cook it in the soup, add the pasta when you add the stock. Otherwise, add the pasta right at the end.
  4. Garnish with parmesan and NOM!
Leave a Reply

