Chicken Pot Pie

This is a quick and easy weeknight dinner, especially if you’ve already got cooked chicken around (for me, it was extra from making pho, but you could also get a rotisserie chicken). I sort of made up my own recipe from a couple different online recipes, but this is the link to the main one I used as a resource.

image

  • 3 Tbsp unsalted butter
  • 1 lb boneless skinless chicken breast, cut into bite size pieces
  • ½ tsp black pepper
  • ½ tsp kosher salt
  • ¼ cup all-purpose flour
  • 3 cups chicken stock (I only needed two cups)
  • 2 cups frozen vegetables , (corn, peas and carrots) (I used fresh vegetables that I parboiled before adding to the skillet– I carrot, ½ onion, 1 celery, 4-5 mushrooms).
  • 3 oz fresh Parmesan cheese, grated
  • 1 tsp dried parsley

Cheesy Drop Biscuits:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 oz fresh Parmesan cheese, grated
  • 1 Tbsp baking powder
  • 1 Tbsp granulated sugar
  • ½ tsp kosher salt
  • ½ cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 cup whole milk

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 450°F.
  2. Melt butter in a (10-inch) oven safe skillet over medium-high heat. Add chicken and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Cook until chicken is browned, about 2 minutes each side. My chicken was cooked already, so I just put it on long enough to heat up the chicken.
  3. Add flour and whisk to combine. (I don’t know if I used the whole ¼ cup of flour. I just made sure the chicken all were somewhat coated in flour. Later, after the vegetables were added, I felt the base was too soupy, even after adding only 2, not 3, cups of broth. Therefore, I added a bit more flour then. It’s to your taste.)
  4. Slowly add chicken stock while whisking skillet. Whisk until well combined. (How she expects you to whisk when there’s chicken in the pot, I have no idea. Just sort of mix as you can.)
  5. Add in vegetables and cheese. (I also think I reduced the amount of parmesan cheese, just because we’re also using parmesan chicken. You can just add as much cheese as you feel is enough. For me it was a couple of tablespoons.) Stir to combine. Reduce heat to medium. Allow mixture to come to a boil, stirring occasionally.
  6. Meanwhile: In a large mixing bowl combine flour, cheese, baking powder, sugar and salt. Whisk to combine well. Add butter and milk. Stir to combine.
  7. Drop biscuits by the rounded tablespoon full on top of pot pie. Place skillet on cookie sheet and then slide into the oven. Bake for 10-12 minutes, until biscuits are golden brown.
  8. Sprinkle with fresh parsley, if you like, serve and enjoy.
Leave a Reply

