Meatballs over Parmesan Polenta

I’m real goofy and cooked this forever ago and never posted it! This recipe comes from one of our fantastic local food magazines, Sauce, and is from a fantastic local Italian restaurant I brought my family too– Trattoria Marcella. St Louis has a wonderful, authentic Italian neighborhood, which means you can get great ingredients there! Life is good.

image*Note: I should begin by saying . .  I totally didn’t make homemade meatballs. Don’t get me wrong, I’m sure they’re the bomb. BUT . .  I didn’t do them that day. Try them out and tell me, yes? The recipe I’ve linked to has the full recipe, but since I used frozen (and delish) ones I got from my CSA with local meat and whatnot, I won’t post it here.

San Marzano Tomato Sauce 
Extra-virgin olive oil
1 medium yellow onion, diced
1 large carrot, peeled and diced
1½ Tbsp. minced garlic
4 16-oz. cans whole San Marzano tomatoes
1½ Tbsp. chopped fresh basil
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

  1. Coat a medium pot with extra-virgin olive oil over medium heat. Saute the onion, carrot and garlic until soft.
  2. Meanwhile, add the tomatoes to a large bowl and crush with your hands.
  3. Add the crushed tomatoes, basil and salt and pepper to the pot with the sauteed vegetables. Stir to combine. Cook 30 minutes over medium heat.
  4. Carefully purée the sauce in a food processor or with a hand blender.

**I really liked the mirepoix in this sauce!!

**I also used a different polenta recipe because I wanted a really strong taste, so I used this parmesan grits recipe I love.

Parmesan Polenta/Grits

  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • Kosher salt
  • 1 cup stone-ground grits
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup low-fat milk
  • ¾ cup freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese (3 ounces)
  • Freshly ground pepper
  1. In a medium saucepan, bring 3 ½ cups of water to a boil with 1 tablespoon of the butter. Add a generous pinch of salt and gradually whisk in the grits. Cook over moderately low heat, whisking often, until the grits are thick and just tender, about 30 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, in another medium saucepan, melt the remaining 2 tablespoons of butter. Whisk in the flour, and when it is bubbling, gradually whisk in the milk. Cook over moderate heat, whisking frequently, until thickened and no floury taste remains, 8 to 10 minutes. Stir in the grated cheese and cook until just melted, about 2 minutes.
  3. Using a rubber spatula, fold the Parmesan sauce into the grits and season with salt and pepper. Serve right away.
Leave a Reply

