Lentil and Egg bowl

I really don’t eat breakfast all that much. I rather sleep until the last minute I can, quickly dress, run out the door with coffee, and have an early lunch. But when I do have breakfast, I want it to be HOT. Therefore, I’m always looking for great, warm breakfast ideas. This one, from Vegetarian Times magazine, is one of my FAVS.

image

  • 1 cup green lentils
  • ½ onion, left whole
  • 2 cloves garlic, smashed
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 tsp. butter, optional (I think it’s a must  . . )
  • 1 squeeze lemon juice
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 Tbs. chopped chives or green onion (optional)
  • 1 Tbs. chopped red bell pepper (optional)
  1. Bring lentils and 2 ½ cups water to a boil with onion, garlic, and bay leaf. Cover, and simmer 25 minutes, or until liquid is absorbed.
  2. Remove and discard onion, garlic, and bay leaf; stir in 1 tsp. butter (if using); and season with salt and pepper. (I usually just leave the onion and garlic in–I chop up my onion in this case– and discard the bay leaf.)
  3. Spoon lentils into 2 bowls, add a squeeze of fresh lemon juice, and top each serving with 1 poached egg. Garnish with chives or chopped green onion and chopped red bell pepper.
Leave a Reply

