Banana Walnut Bread Pudding

So, I’m a stickler for recipes. I like to follow them as closely as possible, because I don’t see myself as very imaginative in the kitchen. However, now that I’ve been cooking regularly for a few years, I’m trying to get more adventurous and try new things. Therefore, I’m quite proud of this recipe. While it’s not an invention on my part, I did Frankenstein it together from several recipes (Emeril’s Banana Walnut Bread Pudding, William Sonoma’s Bread Pudding, and Joy the Baker’s Banana Bourbon Bread Pudding). While any of these would have been delicious as is, I had strictures: It was for work so I couldn’t really have any alcohol in it, and I didn’t want to add a sauce, which is common for bread pudding, because it would be hard for people to eat at work on their break. In addition, I only had a stale-ing baguette and about 1 cup milk in my fridge, so I had to make it work. Mainly I tried to keep the proportions the same of milk to cream based on the recipes I looked at. I think it turned out quite well!

  • 14 slices slices day-old baguette, cut into ¾-inch cubes (you can eye ball it)
  • 1 cups heavy cream
  • 1 cups milk
  • 4 large eggs
  • ½ cup sugar (I recommend brown sugar, but I didn’t have enough, so I did about ¼ cup brown, and ¼ cup white)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • Pinch freshly grated nutmeg
  • Pinch salt
  • Mashed ripe bananas (I only used one banana, in the future, I would use 2)
  • ½ cup chopped walnuts, toasted
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly grease an 8×8 square pan with spray (or you can butter it).
  2. Combine the cream, milk, eggs, sugar, vanilla, cinnamon, nutmeg, and salt in a medium mixing bowl, whisking to combine. Pour the cream mixture over the bread cubes and stir to combine. Let sit for 30 for 45 minutes, or until the bread is soft and has absorbed most of the liquid.image
  3. Stir in the mashed bananas and walnuts. Pour the mixture into prepared dish and bake, uncovered, for 45 to 50 minutes (mine took more like an hour), until the top is golden brown and crispy and the pudding is firm in the center (to check, I stabbed the bread pudding at various places to see if it was still wet).
  4. Remove the pudding from the oven and cool on a wire rack for 15 minutes before serving.
Leave a Reply

